KDYS/An Garda Siochana Good Friday Basketball Blitz

Garda Liz Twomey has her own historic attachment to Castleisland being the first female member of the force to serve here. ©Photograph: John Reidy 29/05/2005
Garda Liz Twomey has her own historic attachment to Castleisland being the first female member of the force to serve here. ©Photograph: John Reidy

The KDYS in partnership with An Garda Siochana held their annual basketball blitz on Good Friday 25th March for the eight successive year at Castleisland Community Centre.

The event was organised by Helena Falvey, youth justice worker and Tim Nolan, youth worker with the KDYS in conjunction with Garda Liz Twomey JLO Castleisland Garda Station.

Garda Liz Twomey Reports:

The Blitz attracted over 70 young people who took part in either U-12 primary games section, U-15 and U-18 on the day a total of 14 games were played. The blitz was a huge success and ran smoothly on the day. Many thanks to all teams who took part and to their respective team managers and parents. Our sponsors on the day were Vincent Murphy Sports; Garvey’s SuperValu; Centra and The Market Stall.

Volunteers Thanked

Thanks to all our volunteers for helping on the day without you this event would not be possible: Eamon Egan, Majella Ahern, John Begley, Tom Dom O’Connor, Roisin Casey, Shauna Ahern, Sarah O’Sullivan, Saoirse Casey, Thomas Murphy and newest recruit Bláthnaid Casey.

GYDP staff:” Johnny Joy, Geraldine O’Meara, Caroline Duane, Brian O’Shea, Linda Kerins, Louise Daly and Robbie Fields. JLO’s: Mike Courtney and Cecilia Scanlon.

In the U-12 Primary games section there were five teams taking part. Each team got four games with the top two teams going through to the finals.

Teams taking part in the primary games section were: Desmond Bulls, Currow No Hoopers, Thunder struck, Miami Bulls and Ballymac Banter Squad. These games were very exciting and crowd thrilling.

Garda / KDYS Good Friday Basketball Blitz winners, Team 69ers: Captain, Damien Feehan holding the shield with from left: Danny Browne, Ethan Brosnan, Patrick O’ Connor, Thomas Murphy and ?? Photograph: Tim Nolan, KDYS

A Great Final

Topping the group were Ballymac Banter Squad and runners up in the group Desmond Bulls. This made for a great final with the half time score was 22-21 to Ballymac Banter Squad with both teams going score for score.

At the final whistle Ballymac Banter Squad won 33-25. Ballymac Banter Squad team : Mickey McCarthy, Justin McCarthy, Emily O’Brien, Garry Lynch, James Baily, Lorna Daly, Tim Pollman-Daamen, Sean Pollman-Daaman and Cathal Culloty. Manager: Brid Prendiville. MVP: Sean Pollman-Daaman. Desmond Bulls: Katie O’Connor, Alex Sheehan, Dayna Horan, Patrick Roche, John Ahern, Peter Burke, Darragh Murphy, Shane McGaley and Raigarda. Coach: Tommy O’ Connor.

In the U-15 category two teams playing here namely: Tecers and Nothing but Nets. Teams played two games with the winner of two games or best aggregate score winning outright. In game one Tecers won 10-2, game 2 a very close encounter with Tecers winning by one point 14-13.

Quality Viewing

Well done to both teams for providing such quality viewing. Tecers team: Captain Greg Curran, Charlie Conway, James McDonnell, DJ Fealey, Saoirse Murphy, Marie McDonnell and Robyn White. Nothing But Nets: Eoin Culloty, Keith Deniel, Grace Curtin, Aoife Creedon, Padraig Fleming, Donal Geaney and Cathal Culloty. MVP: Greg Curran.

Finally the U-18 category two teams took part, 69ers and Tecers. This was a straight final with some great thrills in the game. At half time the score was 23-18 to 69ers. In the second half it was score for score with just one point between the sides at one stage, however 69ers scored three unanswered baskets to win the game 41-35. Team 69ers: Captain, Damien Feehan, Patrick O’ Connor, Keelin Houlihan, Danny Brown, Ethan Brosnan, Thomas Murphy and Robyn White.

Tecers: Greg Curran, James McDonnell, Charlie Conway DJ Fealey, Donal Geaney, Padraig Fleming, Marie McDonnell and Saoirse Murphy. MVP: James McDonnell.

It was a great days entertainment and well done to those who participated and volunteered on the day. Roll on 2017.