Communuty Games Servants Celebrated at Annual Dinner

Cassandra Myers from the Keel/Kiltallagh Community Games Club won the Kerry Youth Award at the annual awards dinner in the River Island Hotel in Castleisland. 

Cassandra, a daughter of Don and Eileen Myers has been involved in community games from a young age.

Community Games play a big part in the family with Cassandra and Natasha involved in sports and always on the go.

She has represented Kerry in Athlone in the discus. She is youth officer for her own area Keel / Kiltallagh where she helps out with the athletics and football and cross country and the other events.

Youth Officer

She is also youth officer for Kerry Community Games where she helps out at the county finals at An Riocht. She has also volunteered at national level in cross country and general athletics events. After receiving the youth award on Friday night in Castleisland, Cassandra now goes forwards to represent Kerry in Galway in November.

The 2016 Community Games Awards was attended by 150 invitees and the guest of honour was Senator Mark Daly, Kenmare.

Long Service

A presentation was made to Kit Horan of the Moyvane/Knockanure club to mark her long service as county registrar.

Kit is current vice- president of Kerry Community Games.

Entertainment on the night was provided by Community Games competitors: Sinead Carr, singing, Ballymacelligott; Eabha Healy, recitation, Glenflesk and the Kilcummin U-12 musicians.

Achievement Awards

The following awards were presented to areas for achievements: Athletics: 1st. Kenmare; 2nd. Spa Mucross and 3rd. Killarney South. Cultural Events: Blennervile/Ballyar. Swimming: St. Brendan’s /Oakpark.

The Owen White Award for the Most Improved Area went to Moyvane/Knockanure. Merit Athletics: Boherbee/Cloghers/Manor. Merit Participation: Ballydonoghue/Lisselton.

Field Events: The Martin Culloty Memorial Cup went to Keel/Kiltalagh. PR Awards: 1st. Milltown/Listry; 2nd Rathmore/Gneeveguilla; 3rd Brosna.

Youth Awards: 1st. Cassandra Myers Keel/Kiltalagh; 2nd. Aoife Fleming, Glenflesk; 3rd. Megan O’Connell, Caherciveen.

The Paud O´Leary Memorial Trophy 2016 was won by volunteer, Sean Daly, Kenmare. Best Overall Areas were: 1st. Kenmare; 2nd.Ardfert/Kilmoyley; 3rd. Listowel.

You can contact The Maine Valley Post on…Anyone in The Maine Valley Post catchment area who would like to send us news and captioned photographs for inclusion can send them

Queries about advertising and any other matters regarding The Maine Valley Post can also be sent to that address or just ring: 087 23 59 467