Class of 2017 Graduates at St. Patrick’s Secondary School

Leaving Cert Award Winnners at the annual St. Patrick's Boys' Secondary School Award. From left:  Padraig Brosnan, full attendance; Patrick O’Connor, full attendance; Danny Browne, academic excellence and Jack Daly, sports award.
Leaving Cert Award Winnners at the annual St. Patrick’s Boys’ Secondary School Award. From left: Padraig Brosnan, full attendance; Patrick O’Connor, full attendance; Danny Browne, academic excellence and Jack Daly, sports award.

Staff, students and parents of St. Patrick’s Secondary School gathered for their annual graduation and awards ceremony recently.

The theme for this year’s graduation was:  The Journey is the Reward – Life is like a coin you can spend it anyway you wish but you can only spend it once.

The ceremony began with the graduation mass in the parish church celebrated by school chaplain Fr. Buckley.

Awards Presented

This was followed by the ceremony in the River Island Hotel where awards were presented in various categories.

Principal Denis O’Donovan praised all the students for their outstanding behaviour during the year which created a very positive, happy and pleasant school atmosphere. He highlighting the importance of students being happy in school and the positive impact this has on personal and academic success.

He congratulated those students who had full school attendance this year, 17 in total.

Follow Their Dreams

This is a great personal achievement for the students. Denis wished the Leaving students the very best for the future telling them to always work hard and follow their dreams – pointing out to them that dreams don’t work unless you do.

He thanked them for the wonderful contribution they made to St. Patrick’s during their time in the school, many of them winning Kerry and Munster football medals and All Ireland basketball honours.

Music and Singing

He also mentioned the huge contribution they made with their music and singing which created many memorable occasions for the school.

The list of award winners is as follows:

Full school Attendance Awards. First year: David Griffin, Shane Óg McGaley, Micheál Nix, Trevor O’Sullivan, John Curtin, Adam Healy, Justin McCarthy and Bryan Roche.

Second year: Dane Hewitt, Joseph McCarthy, Sean O’Sullivan and Dan Daly. Third year: Keith Deniel. Sixth year: Padraig Brosnan, Jack Butler, Joshua Curran and Patrick O’Connor.

Student of the year Award Winners: First year, David Griffin and Patrick Roche. Second Year: David Enright and Ian O’Neill. Third Year: Jason Horan and Shane McEnery. Fifth year: Paul Walsh.

Jim Lyons Award: Art O’Mahony. Sports Award: Jack Daly. Academic Excellence: Danny Browne.

Principal’s Award: Shay Walsh. Overall Student of the year: Padraig Broderick.

Certificate of Achievement Award Winners: Rodrigo Oceano, Tony Horgan, Tadhg Broderick, Oisin Crowley and Ciaran Crowley.

You can contact The Maine Valley Post on…Anyone in The Maine Valley Post catchment area who would like to send us news and captioned photographs for inclusion can send them to:  Queries about advertising and any other matters regarding The Maine Valley Post can also be sent to that address or just ring: 087 23 59 467. Please Note: A click on any of our adverts will reveal all you need to know about what our advertisers need to tell you.

Copyright Notice: The images and text which appear on The Maine Valley Post site remain the exclusive property of John Reidy (087 23 59 467) and are protected under International Copyright laws. Images or text may not be reproduced, copied, transmitted or manipulated without the written permission of the author, John Reidy, in this instance. Use of any image as the basis for another photographic concept or illustration (digital, artist rendering or alike) is a violation of International Copyright laws. All images are copyrighted © by John Reidy 2017