Currow Clubman Elected 2018 Chairman of East Kerry Board

Newly elected East Kerry Board Chairman, Johnny Brosnan, Currow GAA Club.
Newly elected East Kerry Board Chairman, Johnny Brosnan, Currow GAA Club.

Johnny Brosnan made history recently when he was the first member of the Currow GAA Club to be elected to the position of Chairman of the East Kerry GAA Board in its 93 year history.

The Currow club was a founder member of the East Kerry Board when it was formed on May 17th 1925.

East Kerry Board Formed in 1925

At that first meeting in Killarney, Dick Fitzgerald, Dr Crokes was elected as chairman and Humphrey Murphy Currow was elected vice chairman.

Humphrey Murphy won an All Ireland Junior medal with Kerry in 1913 and played with the Kerry senior team winning a Munster medal in 1914.

Through the Years

Through the years a few officer positions have been held by members of the Currow club.

But it has taken 93 years for a member of the club to be elected as chairman.

During his acceptance speech Johnny thanked his own club for nominating him and he thanked all the clubs in East Kerry for putting their faith in him and providing such a great honour for both himself and his club.

Coiste na nÓg Chiarraí

For the past half a century or so, Johnny has been chairman of many sporting and cultural clubs and was a very successful chairman of Coiste na nÓg Chiarraí for seven years.
With his engaging, pleasant personality and democratic approach to his roles, I’m sure the East Kerry Board is in safe hands with Johnny and his fellow officers. Congratulation Johnny !


You can contact The Maine Valley Post on…Anyone in The Maine Valley Post catchment area who would like to send us news and captioned photographs for inclusion can send them to:  Queries about advertising and any other matters regarding The Maine Valley Post can also be sent to that address or just ring: 087 23 59 467. Please Note: A click on any of our adverts will reveal all you need to know about what our advertisers need to tell you.