Pres Girls Celebrating Munster Colleges Football Title

Presentation Castleisland Junior Football team continued its winning streak by beating a young Our Lady’s, Templemore side in Rathkeale on Wednesday to win the Munster Schools Junior Colleges GAA Cup Final.

After qualifying in the group stages, the team overcame SMGS Blarney and Presentation Bandon to achieve a well-deserved spot in the final.

Final on Astro Pitch

The game was played on an AstroTurf surface with torrential rain and strong gusts featuring throughout making conditions challenging for the players on both sides.

However, Presentation Castleisland started well, aided significantly with the strong breeze.

Kayla O’ Connor, Jane Lawlor and Gemma Kearney all tagged on points pushing the school into an early five point lead. As the half continued Presentation pushed further ahead to finish the half 3-6 to 2-0 despite a penalty being given against them in the closing minutes. The penalty was dispatched with aplomb by Templemore.

Much More Challenging

However, the second half would prove much more challenging with the team forced to play into a gale force wind.

Short kicks out and a Dublin-esque style of play executed by Joyce O’Connor, Aoife Kerins and Áine Sheehan kept Templemore at bay despite numerous close calls on Cáit O’Mahony’s goal. Wing backs, Edel Brosnan, Aoife Walsh and Gráinne Walsh stormed into the game with Elaine O’Donoghue proving a much effective sweeper and goal scorer.

Never Going to Lose

Under pressure from the offset, with an additional penalty called against them in the opening minutes, the team managed to hold a talented Templemore side to just two points in the second half. Bríd Moriarty’s tally of 3-2, Emma O’Regan’s 1-4 and Ciara Fitzgerald’s 1-3 pushed Castleisland into a lead they were never going to lose.

And the game finished on a final scoreline of 8-12 to 2-2. Team captain Ciara Fitzgerald accepted the cup on behalf of the team from Dan O’Mahony whilst Kayla O’Connor was chosen by the Munster council as Player of the Match for her outstanding contribution.

Tasted Defeat Last Year

Congratulations is well due to all team members from one to 27, most of whom tasted defeat in last year’s final. There are certainly a number of players to watch on this team who will represent their school at county level in the coming years.

The team looks forward to the 2018/19 season moving up a grade.

The Pres Team: Cáit O’Mahony, Jessica O’Leary, Joyce O’Connor, Áine Sheehan, Edel Brosnan, Gráinne Walsh, Aoife Walsh, Emma O’Regan, Gemma Kearney, Ciara Fitzgerald, Kayla O’Connor, Jane Lawlor, Máire O’Connor, Sarah Mahony, Siobhán Brosnan. Subs: Gráinne O’Connor, Aisling Kearney, Katie O’Connor, Kate O’Connor, Bríd Moriarty, Caitlín Twomey, Alex Sheehan, Lisa Flynn, Aoife Kerins, Elaine O’Donoghue, Laura O’Shea and Coach, Hilary O’Connor.


You can contact The Maine Valley Post on…Anyone in The Maine Valley Post catchment area who would like to send us news and captioned photographs for inclusion can send them to:  Queries about advertising and any other matters regarding The Maine Valley Post can also be sent to that address or just ring: 087 23 59 467. Please Note: A click on any of our adverts will reveal all you need to know about what our advertisers need to tell you.