Scartaglen GAA Club News Round-Up

The Scartaglen team, mentors and supporters with the Bill Tagney Cup after the final against Spa in Kilcummin.
Scartaglen captain. Ger O’Connor receiving the Bill Tagney Cup from East Kerry Chairman Johnny Brosnan after the final against Spa in Kilcummin.

Scart Win Bill Tangney Cup:  Spa 0-12 Scartaglen 2-9 

By Paul Murphy PRO 

Scartaglen pulled off a great win against a very impressive Spa side to claim the East Kerry/Bill Tangney Cup title and finish the season on high in Kilcummin.

Credit to all the players involved and to the management team of Kieran Scanlon and his selectors, Tim Coakley and John Walsh.

Scartaglen GAA Club wishes to thank Kieran and his management team for all the effort they have given throughout the year. We wish them well in their future endeavours.

Scartaglen GAA Club AGM

The Scartaglen GAA Club AGM was held on Sunday 9th December.

The following officers were elected: Club President: Jerome O’Driscoll; Vice Presidents: James O’Donoghue, Tom Culloty, John Reidy, Ellen O’Sullivan, Denis Riordan, Mike Murphy, Jackie Galvin and Mike Cremin.

Chairperson: Denny O’Sullivan; Secretary: Pa Reidy; Assistant Secretary: Noreen Rahilly; Treasurer: Bernard Cronin; PRO: Paul Murphy,outgoing, incoming PRO to to be confirmed.

Registrar: Timmy O’Connor; Child Welfare Officer: Moira Hughes; Lotto Co-Ordinator: Denny O’Sullivan; Coaching Officer: Pa Rahilly; Field Co-Ordinator: Timmy Collins; Scór Officer: Jerome O’Driscoll; Co. Board Delegate: James O’Donoghue; East Kerry/Co. Board Delegate: Mike Murphy and Con Hewitt. St. Kieran’s Delegate: Dan Reidy and Padraig Reidy; Alcohol and Substance Abuse Officer: Timmy O’Connor; Club Insurance Officer: Martin Hewitt.

Scartaglen Coiste na nÓg AGM

Scartaglen Coiste na nÓg AGM was held on Monday evening 17th December in the clubhouse. The following officers were elected: Chairperson: Seamus Riordan; Joint Secretaries: Anna Marie Buckley and Jeremiah Buckley; East Kerry / Co. Board Delegate: Margaret Kerins; Castleisland

District Delegate: Margaret Kerins; Co. Board Delegate: Marie McShane.

Congratulations to Kerry Panelists

Congratulations to Muireann Rahilly, Muireann Walsh and Shauna Tagney who have being called up to the Kerry Ladies U-14 panel for 2019.

Congratulations to Rachel O’Sullivan, Leah Boyle and Jane Lawlor who have being called up to the Kerry Ladies U16 panel for 2019.

All at Scartaglen GAA & Scartaglen Coiste na nÓg would like to wish them all the best for 2019.

Arrival of Baby Chloe Danielle

Congratulations to senior player Brendan Rahilly and his wife Janette on the birth of their daughter Chloe Danielle Rahilly

Scartaglen GAA Club Lotto at €5,400

Next Draw: Fleming’s Bar: 28/12/2018. Jackpot €5,400. Ticket Sponsor: Dromhall Hotel, Killarney.

Christmas Wishes

Scartaglen GAA Club would like to wish all its members and players a Happy Christmas and a Peaceful New Year.

Thanks to everyone who helped in 2018. Here’s to a sporting 2019.

You can contact The Maine Valley Post on…
Anyone in The Maine Valley Post catchment area who would like to send us news and captioned photographs for inclusion can send them to: 

Queries about advertising and any other matters regarding The Maine Valley Post can also be sent to that address or just ring: 087 23 59 467.

Please Note: A click on any of our adverts will reveal all you need to know about what our advertisers need to tell you.

Copyright Notice: The images and text which appear on The Maine Valley Post site remain the exclusive property of John Reidy, (unless stated otherwise) and are protected under International Copyright laws. Images or text may not be reproduced, copied, transmitted or manipulated without the written permission of the author, John Reidy, in this instance. Use of any image as the basis for another photographic concept or illustration (digital, artist rendering or alike) is a violation of International Copyright laws. All images are copyrighted by John Reidy 2018.