IMRO National Award Nominations for Radio Kerry

Radio Kerry presenters among the IMRO nominees included are from left: Tim Moynihan, Joe McGill and Jerry O’Sullivan. Photographs Courtesy of Melanie O’Sullivan / Radio Kerry.

Radio Kerry has received six nominations for the 2019 National Radio Awards.

The annual awards, sponsored by IMRO, recognise the best in Irish radio and include local, national and regional stations in the 32 counties.

The 2019 event will take place on Friday, October 4th at the Lyrath Estate Hotel in Kilkenny.

This year’s nominations are in the following categories:

News Story – When Mistakes Cost Lives – our coverage of the scan scandal at UHK;

Short Feature – Cluas Chiarrai – the students;

Live from the Past – Joe Mc Gill;

Digital and Social Innovation – Cluas Chiarrai;

Sports Broadcaster of the Year Local – Tim Moynihan;

Speech Broadcaster of the Year Local – Jerry O Sullivan.

A Credit to the Team

Speaking after the IMRO Nominations were published Radio Kerry’s management said that the nominations are a credit to the Kerry team members involved in putting both the programmes and the submissions together.

“It is an acknowledgement by our peers in the radio industry of the quality programming being produced at Radio Kerry,” the statement read.

112 Nominations for RK Since 2005

A total of 112 nominations have been received by Radio Kerry since 2005 and the station has been awarded 48 National Radio Awards including 15 gold, 14 silver and 25 bronze awards.

Radio Kerry has also been awarded Local Radio Station of the Year five times – 2005, 2007, 2010, 2014 and 2016.

Outstanding Achievement

Also in 2012 Radio Kerry General Manager Fiona Stack received the award for ‘Outstanding Achievement in Irish Radio.’

IMRO invites radio stations annually to submit entries that they feel show a true and thorough representation of the output of the station.

All Aspects of Radio

Entries span all aspects of the station’s content from music programmes, sports, news and speech programmes that reflect the quality of its contribution to their local county and wider franchise area.

Overall 652 entries were received with 185 shortlisted across 37 categories and 105 judges, including industry veterans and new independents