Kerry College Monavalley Campus Awards Night

Radio Kerry won the Short Feature award for Cluas Chiarraí at the IMRO Radio Awards 2019 in Kilkenny in October. Staff from the station are pictured after receiving the award.Front row : Shane O Mahony- Moore, Heather Sheehan-Corkery; Hansen the Guide Dog and Amanda Balfe. Back row: Linda McAuliffe, Michael O’Keeffe, Eoghain Fitzgerald , James Mc Auliffe, Barry O’Donnell, Shane Corkery, Dara Ó Cinnéide, Davd Lehane, David Sheehan, Richard Travers and Alan Finn. Photograph: Iain White

Kerry College of Further Education and Training, Monavalley Campus, will hold a certification and awards night at the Rose Hotel, Tralee this Thursday at 7pm.

Two students on the Radio Production and Digital Journalism course – delivered by Radio Kerry – will be presented with a special achievement award on the night.

Class Inspiration

Dara Ó Cinnéide and Barry O’Donnell, are both visually impaired, completed the course.

In the process they inspired the class and their trainer Eoghain Fitzgerald to produce a short feature series for Radio Kerry called Cluas Chiarraí.

Navigation Using Sound

This is based on Dara and Barry’s experiences in navigating their respective worlds using sound. The series won a Gold, Short Feature, and Bronze, Innovation, IMRO National Radio Awards in October.

Dara Ó Cinnéide has strong Castleisland connections as his mom Michelle is one of the artistically, musically and multi talented McGaley clan.

Ceremony Running Order

6pm: Registration of Graduates.

7pm: Introduction and Welcome by Christy Enright, assistant manager.

7:10pm:A message from Con O’Sullivan, area manager, Kerry College Monavalley Campus.

7:15pm: Colm McEvoy, CEO; Kerry Education and Training Board (ETB)

7:20pm: Jim Finucane, Chairperson, Board of Management, Kerry Education and Training Board.

7:25pm: Official Presentation of Certificates.

8pm: Guest Speakers: Barry O’Donnell and Dara Ó Cinnéide, Digital Journalism and Radio Course.

8:25pm: Concluding comments by Christy Enright. Followed at 8:30pm by light refreshments.