15,460 Entitled to Vote in Tomorrow’s Castleisland Municipal District Election

At the Kerry County Council, Local and European Elections media briefing hosted by Kerry County Council on Tuesday morning were, seated from left: Pádraig Corkery, Media Liaison Officer; Christy O’Connor, Deputy Returning Officer; Padraig Burke, European Elections / County Registrar; Martin O’Donoghue, Returning Officer and Owen O’Shea, Media Liaison Officer. Back row; Kathleen O’Sullivan, Irish Examiner; Jennie O’Sullivan, RTÉ ; Dara Ó Cinnéide, Radio Na Gaeltachta / TG4; Anne Lucey, The Irish Times; Sinéad Kelleher, The Kerryman / Irish Independent; Amber Galwey, Radio Kerry; Seán Moriarty, Killarney Advertiser and John O’Mahony, Killarney Today. ©Photograph: John Reidy 4-6-2024

A total of 15,460 will be entitled to vote in the Castleisland Municipal District Council election tomorrow, Friday, June 7th 2024.

Overall, in the six Kerry electoral areas, there will be 127,351 with a vote and, of those, 26,411 are in Tralee, 25 821 in Listowel, 23,922 in Kenmare, 23,159 in Killarney and 12,578 in Corca Dhuibhne.

There is an increase of in the region of 7,000 voters compared to the 2019 local elections with 77 candidates on this occasion compared to 62 five years ago.

120,053 people in Kerry are entitled to vote in the European elections the running of which will be overseen by County Registrar Pádraig Burke.

A total of 614 are entitled to special votes and 665 have been approved for postal votes in the local elections.

Boxes Opened in Killarney at 8:30am

The boxes for all areas will be opened at Killarney Sports and Leisure Centre shortly after 8.30am on Saturday before the European election votes are sorted and transferred, under army escort, to the official county centre in Cork.

Following an initial tally of the local election votes in Killarney, boxes for Corca Dhuibhne, Tralee, Listowel and Castleisland will be brought to John Mitchels GAA Club in Tralee to be counted while the votes for the Killarney and Kenmare Municipal Districts will be handled in Killarney.

It is likely to be very late on Saturday night or early on Sunday morning before a result of the first count is announced at the Killarney Sports and Leisure Centre where the key count staff will include deputy returning officers Kathleen Moriarty, who will take charge of the declarations, and Charlie O’Sullivan with Owen O’Shea the media liaison officer.

New Councillors to Meet on June 21st.

At the county centre in Tralee, the deputy returning officers are Damien Ginty, who will deliver declarations, and Mike Scannell and the media liaison officer will be Pádraig Corkery.

The returning officer for Kerry is Martin O’Donoghue and his deputy will be Christy O’Connor.

At a briefing for journalists covering the Kerry counts, held in county buildings on Tuesday morning, it emerged that the first meeting of the newly elected council has been scheduled for Friday, June 21st and the first meeting of the new municipal district council will be held in the weeks after that.

260 Polling Stations in Kerry

The deposit paid by candidates is €100 and it is not returned unless they have reached a quarter of a quota at the time of elimination.

There will be a total of 260 polling stations in Kerry and six of those will double up as they will also include smaller local electoral areas.

You can contact The Maine Valley Post on… Anyone in The Maine Valley Post catchment area who would like to send us news and captioned photographs for inclusion can send them to: jreidy@mainevalleypost.com Queries about advertising and any other matters regarding The Maine Valley Post can also be sent to that address or just ring: 087 23 59 467.