Kerry U-16A Ladies Cruise Past Cork with Polished Display

All-Ireland champions Kerry remain on course to make it two-in-a-row following an emphatic 12-points victory over rivals Cork in the first round of the Munster Under 16 A Ladies Championship played in Castleisland today.
The final score was 3-10 to 0-7 in Kerry’s favour but, really, it could have been more as this Kerry side really is the team of all talents.
Cork, to their credit, did everything they could to impose their will on the game but they found the experienced Kerry rearguard in no form to concede anything soft and Kingdom manager Graham Shine had his charges superbly marshalled and disciplined.
Kerry were well in control by half time thanks to a converted penalty from Rathmore’s Aoife O’Callaghan. This was followed almost immediately by an opportunist goal from the lethal Labhaoise Walmsley after great work by midfielder, Sophie Lynch from the Listowel Emmets club. This put the Kerry ladies in a commanding position at 2-6 to 0-2 ahead.
A missed penalty from Cork’s Katie Quirke ended any hope the visitors had of getting back in the game and a superb goal in the 59th minute of the game from Aoife O’Callaghan sealed the victory for the hugely impressive Kerry girls.
The Kerry squad was: Laura Teahan (Kilcummin); Kate Maher (Kilcummin); Tara Breen (Beaufort); Ciara O’Brien (Laune Rangers); Anna O’Reilly (Fossa); Ally Ní Mhathuna (Corca Dhuibhne); Ciara Murphy (Milltown/Listry);Sophie Lynch (Listowel Emmets); Brid Ryan (Rathmore); Fiadhna Tagney (Beaufort); Erica McGlynn (Fossa); Niamh Ní Chonchuir (Corca Dhuibhne); Aoife O’Callaghan (Rathmore); Hannah O’Donoghue (Beaufort); Labhaoise Walmsley (Castleisland Desmonds); Dasha Puzanova (Dr Crokes); Julie O’Sullivan (Inbhear Sceine Gaels); Jaydn Lucey (Na Gaeil); Ceiti Ní Luing Corca Dhuibhne); Rachael Fitzgerald (Rathmore); Mollie O’Carroll (Austin Stacks); Anna Clifford (Fossa); Mairaed Bennett (Spa); Ellen Coffey (Legion); Kate Stack (Dr Crokes); Kayla O’Connor (Castleisland Desmonds); Kayleigh McGlashan (Laune Rangers);Ciara Randles (Legion); Roisin Daniel (Firies); Ellen O’Sullivan (Inbhear Sceine Gaels).