St. Patrick’s Secondary School – The Class of 2016 Graduate

Staff, students and parents came together recently for the graduation ceremony of the  St Patrick’s Secondary School Leaving Certificate Class of 2016.

The theme of this year’s ceremony was ‘Dream Big’ and the event began with the annual mass celebrated by school chaplain, Fr. John Buckley. This was a wonderful ceremony, a celebration of the entire school year with music, song and some very thought provoking reflections by students and parents.

Following the mass everyone gathered in The River Island Hotel for the presentation of the end of year awards.

Wonderful Work

In his address, Principal Denis O’Donovan thanked all the students for the wonderful work they have done over the year and for the excellent contributions they all have made to school life. He told them that graduation was a time to look back and celebrate and also to look forward and dream but it was also a gentle reminder that nothing lasts forever and that time waits for none of us.

Mr. O’Donovan spoke about the great ‘spirit’ that exists in St. Patrick’s Secondary School, a spirit of teamwork, solidarity and togetherness created by students, teachers and parents. He told the students that each of them are at a wonderful place in their lives, they have nothing to lose and everything to live for and told them that successful people are not those who never fail but those who never quit.

Wished Them Well

He wished them all well for the future and reminded them to always remember the memories and wonderful friendships they have made in St. Patrick’s Secondary School.

The following were the award winners for the 2015/2016 school year: Overall Student of the year: Shane McGaley 6th year; Principal’s Award: Art O’Mahony 5th year; Academic Achievement Award: David Lynch 6th year; Sports Award: Adam Donoghue 6th year; Jim Lyons Award: Ciaran Lane; Student of the Year Awards: 1st Year, Paddy Brosnan and Padraig Hilliard; 2nd Year Jason Horan and  Redmond Horan; 3rd Year, Moss O’Callaghan and Danny Hickey and 5th Year Jack Daly.

Awards for full attendance went to:  Joseph McCarthy, Eoghan Kenny, Keith Deniel, Dylan Browne, Tommy Curtin, Darragh O’Connor, Padraig Brosnan, Callum McCarthy, Sean O’Keeffe and Conor O’Shea.