Ferris Calls On Kerry TDs to Back Motion of No Confidence

Kerry Sinn Féin TD Martin Ferris calling on his fellow Kerry TDs to back the party's motion in Dáil Éireann on Wednesday. ©Photograph: John Reidy
Kerry Sinn Féin TD Martin Ferris calling on his fellow Kerry TDs to back the party’s motion in Dáil Éireann on Wednesday. ©Photograph: John Reidy

Sinn Féin TD for Kerry Martin Ferris has called on his fellow county TDs to support the motion of no confidence in the government which will be moved in the Dáil on Wednesday.
Deputy Ferris has said that the failure of the Government to act to protect the interests of Garda Sgt Maurice McCabe, means that it cannot credibly remain in power.

“The Government has failed demonstrably and abjectly in its response to the vicious smear campaign waged against Garda Whistle blower Sgt. Maurice McCabe. The coalition cannot remain in power.

Conflicting Accounts

The Minister for Justice along with the Taoiseach and Minister for Children have given conflicting accounts of who knew what and when.

Their positions regarding when they were informed of the Tusla file and the false allegations against Sgt McCabe simply do not stack up.

Over the past three years, Fine Gael has failed to protect the good name of Maurice McCabe and has failed to get to the bottom of his allegations and the smear campaign against him.

No Confidence

We have submitted this motion of no confidence in the government because we do not have any faith in the ability of this administration to deliver truth and justice for Maurice McCabe or in its ability to resolve the wider issues at play in this controversy.

I am urging my Kerry Dáil colleagues to support the motion in order to remove from power a chaotic government that has already lost its authority.

Fianna Fáil and Micheál Martin in particular cannot sit on their hands and vote to abstain with any credibility. They cannot hide behind the supply and confidence agreement in an effort to shirk their responsibilities.”

The Sinn Féin motion re: No confidence in the Government reads:

That Dáil Éireann notes:-

  • The recent revelations regarding whistleblower Garda Sgt. Maurice McCabe’s treatment by agencies of the state;

  • The failure of Government ministers to act to protect the interests of Garda McCabe and, by extension, endangering the rights of all citizens;

  • That this scandal goes to the very heart of the integrity of this Government;

  • Declares that Dáil Éireann has no confidence in the Government and calls on An Taoiseach and his entire Cabinet to resign forthwith to allow fresh elections.

— Gerry Adams, John Brady, Pat Buckley, Jonathan O’Brien, Seán Crowe, David Cullinane, Pearse Doherty, Dessie Ellis, Martin Ferris, Kathleen Funchion, Martin Kenny, Mary Lou McDonald, Denise Mitchell, Imelda Munster, Carol Nolan, Eoin Ó Broin, Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin, Donnchadh Ó Laoghaire, Louise O’Reilly, Aengus Ó Snodaigh, Maurice Quinlivan, Brian Stanley, Peadar Tóibín.

You can contact The Maine Valley Post on…
Anyone in The Maine Valley Post catchment area who would like to send us news and captioned photographs for inclusion can send them to: jreidy@mainevalleypost.com

Queries about advertising and any other matters regarding The Maine Valley Post can also be sent to that address or just ring: 087 23 59 467

Please Note: A click on any of our adverts will reveal all you need to know about what our advertisers need to tell you.