St Patrick’s Reign Supreme Over Castlegregory in Schools’ Final

The St. Patrick’s Secondary School Castleisland winning team that won the Kerry Post Primary Schools U16 ½ Joe O’Connor Shield on Tuesday by defeating Castlegregory. Names and club affiliations at the end of the report.
The St. Patrick’s Secondary School Castleisland winning team that won the Kerry Post Primary Schools U16 ½ Joe O’Connor Shield on Tuesday by defeating Castlegregory. Names and club affiliations at the end of the report.

 St Patrick’s 4-8 Castlegregory  1-7

A sunny Austin Stack Park in Tralee was the venue for the Kerry Post Primary Schools Joe O’ Connor U-16 ½ final between St. Patrick’s Castleisland and Castlegregory.

St. Patricks started off the game well with an opening goal from a very dangerous Jason Brennan after he had cut through the centre to place the ball in the top right corner of the net.

Backs Very Solid

Castlegregory replied with a pointed free but the St. Patrick’s backs were very solid and tenacious especially Garry O’Sullivan, Adam Kelly and Adam Jensen who attacked well from the back.

After a good save by custodian Padraig Hillard a six point turnaround came from a  fast break from the St. Pat’s backs which yielded another Castleisland goal when the busy Jason Brennan setup Connie O’Connor to pass it into the net.

More Success

Excellent work from Aaron O’Connor, Dylan Curtain and Daniel Kelly yielded more success for Castleisland during the course of the half.

The half finished with a slick move from the 45 which resulted in a well taken goal by an impressive Nathan O’ Callaghan. The score at half time read 3.3 to 0-3 in favour of St. Pat’s.

Inspirational Score

The second half resumed with an inspirational individual score by Tadhg O’Shea who carried the ball the length of the field to kick a beautiful score.

After this, Castlegregory began to put the pressure on the Castleisland side and started eating into the deficit.

Huge character was shown by the St. Pat’s team to absorb the pressure and they responded with an excellently taken goal by substitute Sean Cronin.

Great Team Scores

This was followed by great team scores finished off by Cronin, Brennan and Daniel Kelly.

Primary possession from the kickouts was key to success for the Castleisland outfit with the impressive John Bell fielding a number of kickouts.

St. Pat’s was defensively very solid in the second half, especially Gearoid Coffey, James Bailey, and John Curtin who repelled a number of Castlegregory raids on goal.

Jason Brennan was a constant torn in the oppositions side and continued to reap rewards for his hard work with another excellent point from play.

Impact of the Bench

A noteworthy feature of the game was the impact the substitutes had off the bench with important contributions from, Sean O’Sullivan, Shane Og McGaley, David Dillion and Darragh Kelly throughout the closing stages of the match.

After the final whistle was blown St. Patrick’s Secondary School, Castleisland was victorious on a scoreline of 4-8 to 1-7.

A delighted Garry O’Sullivan accepted the trophy from Christy Killeen on behalf of the St. Pat’s team.

Munster Semi-Final

This team has also qualified for the Munster semi-final where they will face Thurles or Ennistymon. Winning this trophy was the culmination of a lot of hard work by the players . A special word of thanks is due to our coaches John Forrest and Patrick McCarthy.

Well done to all concerned and a special word of thanks to Castlegregory for a very sporting and enjoyable game.

Congratulations to all on the team: Tadhg O’Shea, Desmonds; Redmond Horan, Cordal; Cathal Shire, Desmonds; Daniel Kelly, Currow; Garry O’Sullivan, Currow; Shane McEnery, Scartaglen; Aaron O’Connor, Currow; David Dillon, Desmonds; Aaron Fleming, Currow; Darren O’Donovan, Desmonds; John Bell, Knocknagoshel; Jason Brennan, Currow; Dylan Curtin, Knocknagoshel; Padraig Hilliard, Currow; Adam Jensen; Currow; Eric McCarthy, Scartaglen; Connie O’Connor, Currow; Cian Ring, Firies; Gearoid Coffey, Currow; Nathan O’Callaghan, Currow; Sean O’Sullivan, Cordal; James Bailey, Ballymacelligott; Adam Kelly, Ballymacelligott; John Curtin, Currow; Darragh Kelly, Currow; Shane Og McGaley, Desmonds; Sean Cronin, Desmonds; Conor Casey, Scartaglen; Eoghan Kenny, Ballymacelligott; Josh McCarthy, Currow; Colm Roche, Desmonds; Declan McCarthy, Desmonds; Darragh Griffin, Knocknagoshel; Matthew Keane, Knocknagoshel; Matthew O’ Connor, Knocknagoshel and Padraig Fleming, Currow.


You can contact The Maine Valley Post on…Anyone in The Maine Valley Post catchment area who would like to send us news and captioned photographs for inclusion can send them to:  Queries about advertising and any other matters regarding The Maine Valley Post can also be sent to that address or just ring: 087 23 59 467. Please Note: A click on any of our adverts will reveal all you need to know about what our advertisers need to tell you.