Annual KDYS/An Garda Siochana Basketball Blitz

The Kerry Diocesan Youth Service (KDYS) in partnership with An Garda Siochana held their annual basketball blitz on Good Friday. The blitz was held for the seventh successive year at Castleisland Community Centre.
It was organised by Helena Falvey Youth Justice worker with the KDYS in conjunction with Garda Liz Twomey Junior Liaison Officer, Killarney Garda Station.
The event attracted over 130 young people who took part in either U-12 Primary games section, U-15 and  U-18 and a total of 19 games were played.
The blitz was a huge success and ran smoothly on the day.
“Many thanks to all teams which took part and to their respective team managers and parents.  Our sponsors on the day were: Vincent Murphy Sports, SuperValu; Centra and The Market Stall.  Thanks to all our volunteers for helping on the day without you this event would not be possible: Billy O’Connor, Majella Ahern, John Begley, Tommy Dom O’Connor, Roisin Casey, Michaela Ahern, Aoife Nolan, Nicole Downey, Saoirse Casey and Jack Curran,’ said Helena Falvey of the KDYS.
In the U12’s Primary games section there were nine teams taking part, this was broken into three groups of three with the top teams from each group going forward to semi-final and final stages.  The teams in the Primary games section were: Team Midgets, Wilcats, Townies, Underdogs, Scart Legends, F4, Scart United, Oklahoma and Bulls.
Group toppers Team Midgets, F4 and Bulls names went into a hat with the first team going into the final, Team Midgets.  In the Semi-final F4 V Bulls a close encounter with F4 coming out on top 8-2.
In the final,  Team Midgets V F4 an absolutely nail biting game with both teams evenly matched.  Half time 8-7 for Team Midgets.  In the second half,  F4 scored more points winning on a score of 13-10 to be crowned the U-12 champions. F4 team: Joint captain Brid Flynn and Conor Henderson with team mates: Katie Brosnan, Chloe O’Connor, Dylan Callaghan, Darragh Brosnan, Jason Brennan and Tadhg Riordan.  Team Midgets: Gearóid Coffey, Nathan O’Callaghan, Padraig Hillard, Grace Daly, Mark Hickey, Adam Jensen, Connie O Connor and Ellen Dennehy.  MVP: Grace Daly team Midgets.
In the U-15 category three teams playing here namely: Tecers, Tune Squad and Double D’s all teams playing each other and fighting for two the spaces in the final. Contesting in the final were Tecers and Double D’s. Half time, Double D’s leading 6-4.
In the second half Tecers came out and scored three unanswered baskets to win on a score of 16-11. Tecers team: Greg Curran, Ryan Maguire, Kevin Keane, Mark O’Donoghue, Sarah O Sullivan, Shauna Ahern, Siobhan Collins and Aoife Dunlea.  Double D’s: Darren Maunsel, Darya O’Connell, Chloe O’Connor, Jack Curran, Aoife O’Connor, Kevin O’Mahoney, Thomas Murphy, Dominic Prenderville and Michael Costello.  MVP: Tecers player Sarah O’Sullivan.
Finally the U-18 category in this group some players played their last Good Friday basketball blitz who have been there since the event was organised seven years ago and all concerned are are very grateful to this group who have supported and embraced the blitz from the beginning.
“In particular a big thank you to Roisín Casey who has coached teams and who has volunteered in the event from the beginning,” said Helena Falvey.
Tech and All Stars contesting the U-18 final. This was by far the closest game on the day half time Tech Titans 14-8, in the second half a great comeback saw the team level on 14 a piece, after that it was basket for basket and in the last minute All Stars scored a three pointer to give them the lead 21-20. The game ended with All Stars being crowned U-18 winners taking the title from Tech Titan. All Stars: Damien Feehan, Tony Mitchell, Eamon O’Connor, Darya O’Connell, Aoife O’Connor, Dominic Prendiville, Mikey Broderick and Michael Costello.  Tech Titans: Michaela Ahern, Breda McMahon, Christina Brosnan, Adam O’Donoghue, Roisín Casey, Jason O’Connor, John McMahon and Patrick Murphy.  MVP: Dominic Prendiville.