Castleisland Community College National Design Team Winners 2022

Castleisland Community College national prize-winning team. With teacher Michael McSweeney and Principal Teresa Lonergan are: Mary Kate Culhane, Shauna O’Keeffe and David Peskett. The team also included Pierce Flynn.

Transition year students from Castleisland Community College, Shauna O’Keeffe, David Peskett, Mary-Kate Culhane and Pierce Flynn have won a National Design Team Competition 2022.

The competition celebrates, encourages and inspires the next generation of designers and the remit of the competition was to design a sustainable camping lamp.

Sustainable Camping Lamp

The students designed their sustainable camping lamp in Design Communication Graphics (DCG) class under the supervision of their teacher, Michael McSweeney.

There was a shortlist of eight teams for this final which took place online. The students compiled a power-point presentation for the final to explain their design.

As national winners the school won a Sindoh 3D printer sponsored by Solid Works and each team member won a €50 One4all voucher.

You can contact The Maine Valley Post on… Anyone in The Maine Valley Post catchment area who would like to send us news and captioned photographs for inclusion can send them to: Queries about advertising and any other matters regarding The Maine Valley Post can also be sent to that address or just ring: 087 23 59 467.