Lyreacrompane Centre Helped to Adopt Renewable Energy System

At the, then N.E.K.D, dinner at Lyreacrompane Community Centre in 2012 were front row: Paddy McAuliffe, Tim Barry, Mary O’Donoghue, Richard O’Connor. Second Row: James M Buckley, Jack Griffin, Eamonn O’ Reilly, Anita Bodenham, Geraldine Kelly, Kay Daly, Joanne O’ Sullivan, Bernard Collins, John Dalton and Denis Brosnan. Third Row: Joseph Higgins, Philomena O’Donoghue, Sean O’Leary, Michael Quilter, Helen Lenihan, Sean Galvin, Eleanor Enright, Mary Hanlon, Julianne O’Connor, Dawn Darcy, Tom Harmon, Colleen Shields, Eugene O’Sullivan, John Joe Walsh, Finbarr Breen, Eileen Hussey Slattery. Back row: Mary Carroll, John Dennehy, Donal Moloney, Seamus O’Hara, Michael Brosnan, Chris Barrow and Liam Dillon. ©Photograph: John Reidy 30-5-2012.

Local independent Kerry County Councillor Charlie Farrelly has welcomed a Leader grant of €33,539.25 towards a 3kw Solar Photovoltaic (PV) System for Lyreacrompane Community Centre C.L.G.

The allocation is intended to include: Solar Panels and Heat Pump provision at the centre which was granted to Lyreacrompane Community Centre CLG by the Kerry County Council Local Action Group Committee at its last meeting.

Extensive And Detailed Application

“The awarding of this Leader funding follows an extensive and detailed applications by the Lyreacrompane group through North, East and West Kerry Development,” said Cllr. Farrelly.

“It’s brilliant to see community facilities getting funding to upgrade and sustain their community center and facilities which play a very active part in the local community and this is especially so in the Covid-19 times that we live in.

Sustaining the Future

“This grant will sustain the future of heating and hot water for the community centre and the project is innovative in that the group wishes to upgrade to a more efficient system while at the same time using green, renewable sources of energy of an environmentally friendly kind,” said Cllr. Farrelly in conclusion.